Golden Matrix Awards   Hall of Fame   Inspire the Passion
2019 GMA entry site and volunteer to be a first round judge

  Class of 2019 nominees announced
Inductees to be announced April 20 

  Class of 2019 Nominations closed
Winners to be announced May 5

2019 Rules and Categories

IDEA Annually recognizes superior achievement throughout the event presentation industry by awarding its Golden Matrix Awards (GMAs) at the annual IDEA Conference. The purpose of the GMAs is to recognize artistic, entertainment and technical excellence in the programming of large screen video and fascia displays.

The GMAs are also intended to provide an opportunity for the event presentation industry to share ideas and to view the wide variety of productions that have been created over the past year.

In order to be eligible, entries must have been produced by an Active IDEA member for display on the member's system to a live audience during an event. The GMAs give members the opportunity to show off their best work to their colleagues and voting for all categories is done by the membership.


Honoring Excellence
          Celebrating History
                    Inspiring New Generations

Established in 2008 to coincide with IDEA's 25th anniversary, the IDEA Hall of Fame honors innovators in the event presentation industry.

Class of 2018:
Tim Beach, Ed Filomia, Sergio Lozano
Class of 2017: Chuck Morgan
Class of 2016: Bob Becker, Tim Gunkel
Class of 2015: David Schindler, Jeff Schmahl
Class of 2014: Dr. Charles Steinberg
Class of 2013:
Anthony Fanticola, Fran Kowalski and Cliff Wight
Class of 2012: Aaron Buckles
Class of 2011: Rod Murray, Jeff Szynal
Class of 2010:
John Franzone, Denise Roberts McKee
Class of 2009: Mark DiNardo

The inaugural Class of 2008 honored the group of ten individuals who were instrumental in the creation of IDEA, "The Pioneers": David Belding, Liz Burke Brown, Jack Croghan, Paul Darst, Dick Davis, Karen Johnson, Betsy Leesman, Gabe Paul Jr., Howard Pizer, Paul Shubin.


Inspired by the passion of Jeff Schmahl,
          who mentored so much young talent
                    during his career.

Established in 2014, the IDEA Inspire the Passion Award honors outstanding students/interns in the event presentation industry. Upon nomination from a supervising IDEA member, the nominees are eligible to apply for the highly selective Inspire the Passion Award.

Award recipients receive an all-expenses paid trip to the annual IDEA Conference.

The IDEA Inspire the Passion Award Committee, under the direction of the IDEA Executive Board, is charged with oversight of the nominations and selection process.